Exciting times! The Beta plan is coming to an end, and now all beta users will have to choose a plan to start the 30-day free trial.

We have been in beta for a year and a half, and now that you have to choose a plan, some of you might be thinking that you want a smaller plan but have too many projects to do so.

What to do? Don’t fret! It’s really easy and you won’t lose any information.

The Transition

So you went to work like any other day, whistling a happy tune, opened SmartView, and saw something like this:

OMG what’s this read-only thing? It’s just our friendly way of letting you know that you need to choose a plan, so please follow the Update Account link to do so.

To choose a plan simply click the Upgrade or Downgrade button in the plan that you want to try out (you can change it later).

However, some of the plans might show a Too many projects message, indicating the amount of projects that you have would not fit in that plan.

For example, in the picture above, I have five projects so the Small and Personal plans are too small.

Luckily there is an easy fix for this (yay!).

Archiving Projects

The first solution is to archive the projects that you don’t need access to for now (the ones you aren’t currently working on). Archiving lets you keep the project stored for later use.

To do so, go to the menu Settings Project Settings.

There you can check the Archive box and voilà!

The project will appear archived on the project index when you turn on the Show (archive) filter.

Archived projects (and any collaborators who are only on those projects) do not count towards your plan limit.

You can, of course, unarchive a project later—just make sure you have enough room for it, otherwise you won’t be able to.

Transferring Projects

The second option is to transfer the project ownership. For example, you may have started a project for the company you work for, but now that a plan has to be chosen, it is better to transfer it to the actual company.

That way you remain a collaborator on the project, but it does not count towards your own plan.

To do so, go to the menu Settings Project Settings.

Choose Transfer Ownership to enter the email of the SmartView user you want to transfer the project to.

Deleting Projects

Last but not least, you can choose to delete a project. Perhaps you were only testing it out, and now you realize that you don’t need that project after all. If that is the case, and you are really, really sure (I cannot stress this enough) that you don’t need the information, you may choose to go with this option.

Please note that all the information will be erased and you will be unable to retrieve it in the future.

To do so, go to the menu Settings Project Settings.

Then choose Delete. You will be prompted to confirm, and then the project will be permanently removed.

We’re here to help our users during this transitional phase. Contact us anytime!